For the love of craft.

Just over 18 months ago I gave up the job I had been doing to move half way across the country to be with my other half. I had grand visions of developing a one woman crafting empire, the business plan was written, the website was up and running, I had amassed the world’s biggest fabric stash and I’d spent months creating stock. Unfortunately I picked the same time as every other woman on the planet to try to live this dream. I had also firmly slotted myself in to the world of slow crafts – no machine stitching, fabric recycled and repurposed using a whole range of fabric manipulation techniques and only ever creating one of each item. Whilst there was a gap in the market where this was concerned, it was for a very good reason, the kind of people who are interested in such an approach tend to be the people who will do it themselves. As I had no desire to go down the simple,¬†inexpensive and mass produced (ok so not MASS produced in the normal sense but certainly something that you would churn out up to 100 of in the same design) I changed direction and entered the murky world of competition quilting. This decision ended up putting me off crafting for quite some time. It wasn’t until I became pregnant that I rediscovered my love for making things. I’ve come to the conclusion that it might not be a viable career choice but it makes me happy so I’ll stick to doing it for love instead of money.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

