My latest obsession

Thanks to a very generous Nanna and an equally generous Grandma Crafty Baby now has more clothes than you can shake a stick at (including some fabulous vintage dresses that used to be mine – I told you she was going to be a 70s baby!) so I have had to find something else to make other than baby clothes. For a long time I have drooled over all the patterns on Ravelry for intricate lace weight shawls but with a small baby the idea of attempting to knit one was laughable so I thought I’d have a look to see if there were any crochet patterns of a similar nature.

I had a couple of balls of lace weight yarn in my stash but had other projects in mind for them so thought I’d try and use one of the many cones of feather weight/ cobweb yarn I have somehow managed to acquire over the years. I liked the look of this Neptune’s Tears pattern. The repeat looked simple enough to memorise so I didn’t have to remember to take the pattern everywhere with me yet it looked more complicated than it actually was once it was worked up. Here is the finished article (well almost finished it still needs to be blocked):

Neptune's Tears Pattern

It only took a week to make and I had so much fun doing it that I decided to make another one. This time I thought I would play about with the increases to try and alter the angles of the triangle and I’d make the rest of the pattern* up as I went along. Again I used some of the feather weight yarn I had in my stash and this is what I came up with (pre-blocking):

molten ice shawlette

In case you were wondering why neither of these have been blocked its because the yarn I used is acrylic and I haven’t been brave enough to try steam blocking them yet.

I didn’t stop there, what I really wanted was a very shallow angle on the triangle so the shawlette came out long and thin but the only way I could achieve the proportions I wanted was by drafting a pattern for a shawl worked side to side rather than top down with a central increase. I found a self patterning feather weight yarn in my stash and this is what it looks like so far:

side to side shawl

I will add a lace border on when I finished the body of the shawl, at the moment I think this will be in the same yarn but I may opt for a solid colour depending on which looks best when its worked up. However, I have had to put this to one side for the time being as I’ve dug my knitting needles back out for World Wide Knit in Public Week (#WWKIP). I’m trying to find time to knit in public every day between the 8th and the 16th June – look out for a blog post early next week about how I’ve managed.

*Once I have had chance to sit down and write out the patterns for the shawls I have designed myself I will add them as blog posts in case anyone else fancies having a go at making them.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

