All that stands between me and the FOs is a demon baby and RSI

Who knew there was such a thing as too much knitting? Well, it seems that there is and I know about it. I’d been on a bit of a knitting frenzy trying to get all my work knitting done and out of the way before I go on holiday on Saturday, although goodness knows why as its not due in until the end of September and I’m only going away for a week. I also hadn’t bothered with the knitters’ exercises that someone on Twitter had circulated the week before. Result – RSI type twinges and aches so I am being a bit more sensible. Obviously I haven’t stopped completely as my brain can’t quite cope with the idea of not doing any knitting at all but I have cut down massively, started the exercises and popped a couple of ibuprofen to tackle the inflammation.

I would like to say that this is all about me being sensible and taking care of my body but that’s not entirely true. The main reason I have cut back so much on the knitting is that Crafty Baby appears to be possessed by the devil! In reality she is just teething but crikey its hard work. I am pleased to say that finally two of the sharp little things have popped through now (although I am not that pleased that she has bitten me more than once when I have been feeding her!) but she is still being very clingy and try as I might its not the easiest thing to do to knit whilst holding a baby at the same time. Anyway back to the knitting…

On the needles:

I am still working on the self striping sock in the Regia yarn, I’ve turned the heel and I’m on the gusset and decreases for the foot. I have quite chunky ankles (as part of my “sturdy walking legs” as my Mother describes them) so I thought I would be ok with 64 stitches on 2.5mm needles but they seem to be a bit slacker than I would like them. Part of me is convinced this is because my ankles have miraculously slimmed down but the sensible part of me knows that this is actually just too many stitches for the gauge that I knit at and the pattern for the socks so I think that the next pair of vanilla socks I knit I will go down to 60 sts for the cast on instead.

Off the needles:

This week as part of the contract knitting I have finished the circular blanket I started last week, a triangular shawl and a cable scarf (yep, that might explain the RSI!). I seem to have fallen in love with cables a bit though, there is just something about the repetitive twisting pattern of a simple cable repeat that draws me in.

IMG_20130827_105533

As for the personal knitting, I have done a swatch. Yes you heard me correctly a proper swatch and here is the evidence;

IMG_20130829_093420

I knitted it in preparation for the Stitched Together Craft Library Knit Along (#STCLKAL) that starts on 31st August, you can find the rules and details of the KAL here. And its a blooming good job I did swatch as my gauge is a little bit on the slack side (21sts per 4″ rather than 22sts) so I am going to have to swatch again on 3.75mm rather than the 4mm needles suggested in the pattern. Lesson for today – it pays to swatch!

I have a third FO this week as well, despite saying I hadn’t really had any time for knitting. Mind you all I had to do for this was cast off so it wasn’t too hard. The FO was a jumper I had started during World Wide Knitting in Public Week but then forgotten about. I was using a feather weight yarn on 3.25mm circular needles and pretty much freestyling the pattern as I went along with a plan for it to be a loose fitting drop shoulder short sleeve tee. On reflection I realised it would not suit me if I finished it and it would have been way too big for my younger sister who it would have suited. I didn’t have the heart to frog it completely so I just cast it off and hoped I’d find a use for it. What I have ended up with is a pretty useful multi-functional FO. Here it is as a cowl;

20130829_103438

But by wearing it slightly differently it converts into;
– a scarf
– a modesty wrap to use when breast feeding
– a lightweight poncho
– a snood

and at bit of a stretch of the imagination even a hat!

Planning:
In an attempt to expand my knitting skills (and as a direct result of watching far too many episodes of the Knitting in Circles Podcast) I have set myself a challenge to learn how to knit socks using the magic loop technique. My original goal had been by the end of September but given the angry baby and the sore wrists I think I’ll stretch that until the end of October. Once I’ve got my head around that I may even attempt 2 at a time toe up!

Baking:
So far this week I have been busy eating my own body weight in Viennese Whirls as there was an offer on in the co-op but tomorrow, in preparation for the holidays I will be baking up a batch of flapjack to my OH’s recipe. Its very simple, no fancy added flavours in the form of dried fruit or nuts it just has the best part of 2 packs of butter in it. Not particularly diet friendly but oh dear lord its good.

Allotment:

Quite a good harvest on the allotment this week in the form of onions and runner beans.

20130825_120913

20130818_145118

It would seem that the runner beans make quite good alternatives to teething rings too. Crafty baby has loved chewing on them, although having them hanging out of her mouth like a big green cigar does make her look even more like Winston Churchill!

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

