Monogamous knitting

A return to the usual format this week with a quick round up of what’s on the needles and an update on how I’m progressing with my 2014 knitting resolutions.

On the needles:

My one and only project on the needles is an unfinished Christmas present, STILL! You may recall that I mentioned I was knitting a linen stitch tie for one of my younger brothers for Christmas, well its still not finished, in fact I’m not even half way there. Its got to the stage where I am refusing to let myself cast anything else on and being a monogamous knitting, something which I have never been before but I know that if I don’t it will just get pushed in to hibernation until my brother or more likely my mother asks where it is. If I ever mention linen stitch, 4ply and 3.25mm needles again please send someone round to talk sense in to me.

Off the needles:

In an effort to hide from the tie I picked up a languishing crochet WIP (its crochet and therefore does not count as cheating on the unfinished knitting!). I started a granny square lap blanket for my sister back in August with a view to using up some of my deep stash acrylic and having it finished in time for her to take back to uni with her (with my time management skills you’d never believe I used to be involved in project management would you!). Anyway here it is.

granny

I’m quite pleased with how it turned out although it does look a bit skewed on the picture, something which could have been blocked out if I’d used real wool but will just have to be lived with given that it is acrylic but my sister seems to like it which is all that matters, in fact I’ve just been having a conversation with her about where exactly in her uni room she is going to put it – over her knees 24/7 seems to be winning so far!

Spinning:

Last year I went on a bit of a fibre buying binge and I posted about a successful trip I made to my LYS when I managed to buy 4 bags of fibre for under £10, the reason it was so cheap was that the bags were all made up out of random odds and ends from the scraps bin they have in the shop. The shop runs felting courses every so often and the bits of fleece they have left over after the evens seem to get put in to a big gin at the end of it and then sold off at a reduced price. I think the idea is that they can be used for small felting projects but I searched through the pile and found a whole host of pieces that would still spin well (not too tatty or compacted etc). This is the result of spinning up one of the bags.

spinning

I ended up with 86g of 2ply 80% merino 20% BFL fingering weight yarn measuring a total of 243m. My rough estimate of splitting the pieces of fleece equally were a bit off so one skein has significantly more barber poling in it than the other one but I have an idea for a design which could utilise this so all is not lost. I really like the colours and the tightness of the twist (I normally underply things) and I have to say this was my first time spinning BFL and I love it, it was a dream to spin. Luckily I have 2 more bags of BFL fibre to spin otherwise I may have been having to look for a loop hole in my stash down criteria!

Progress with 2014 knitting resolutions:

So far in January I have used 400g of yarn and 100g of fibre but not bought any more to replace it. On my 2 in 1 out criteria I could legitimately buy 200g of yarn and 50g of fibre but I think I will save it up until I find something really nice or have a specific project in mind.

The only other resolution I have made progress on is the KAL with my mum, we wont be starting it until February but we have picked the pattern, we will both be casting on the Hitchhiker scarf by Martina Behm using handspun yarn.

One caveat that I will add though is that this KAL can only happen once I’ve finished the blasted tie, on which note I had better get back to it.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

