An exercise in pattern writing

As one of my New Year Resolutions/ knitting intentions for 2014 I decided I should be more organised when it came to the patterns I improvised. Normally I am guilty of not even taking vague notes on what I’m making and then trying to figure out what it was I did only after I’ve knitted it. This is my first attempt at clearly documenting something I’ve improvised, please feel free to comment on anything that isn’t clear when I’ve written it up.

This pattern if for the very simple Christmas in August scarf (a wide shallow triangular shape scarf) that I knitted for my sister last year.

Christmas in August

andrea scarf

Yarn:
– 2 x 50g Balls of King Cole Galaxy DK (if substituting a different wool you will need approx. 350m)

Needles:
– 4.5mm straight needles for the main body
– 100cm long 4.5mm circular needle for the frill

Tension:
– Not critical for this pattern

For the scarf:
CO 4st
K7 rows
Next row: Kfb in to first stitch, K3 (5sts)
K7 rows
Next row: Kfb in to first stitch, K4 (6sts)
K7 rows
Next row: Kfb in to first stitch, K5 (7sts)
Repeat this 8 row sequence until you have 38sts
K7 rows
Next row: k2tog, K36 (37sts)
K7 rows
Next row: K2tog, K35 (36sts)
K7 rows
Next row: K2tog, K34 (35sts)
Repeat this 8 row sequence until 4 sts remain
Cast off.

For the frill:
Pick up and knit 160sts on each sloped edge of the scarf (320sts) This counts as row 1.
Row 2: purl
Row 3: (K1, yo) repeat to last stitch, K1 (639sts)
Row 4: purl
Row 5: (K1, yo) repeat to last stitch, K1 (1277 sts)
Row 6: Purl
Row 7: Knit
Row 8: Purl
Cast off loosely

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Pattern and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

