Hooked on crochet

When I first had Crafty Toddler my knitting time took a serious nose dive but I still wanted to indulge in crafty activities so I became a little bit obsessed with crochet – which explains why a lot of crafty toddlers early hand made clothing was crocheted. As she got older it got easier to find time to knit again but now that she has turned 1 and enjoys creating chaos and mischief it had become harder to find time to knit again so I have returned to crochet. The two main reasons I love it are that it grows faster than knitting and I can pick it up and put it down quickly without worrying about getting to the end of a row/ pattern repeat should I need to wrestle the baby/ stop her chewing on wires etc.

The project that got me back in to the swing of it with crochet was the baby blanket I made for my friend. T ended up being quite a rush job as she was induced 3 weeks early but I got it finished just a couple of days after she had her little boy and it should be winging its way to her in the post. I will post a full picture of it once she has received it but in the mean time here is a teaser from when I took it to the park to work on it last week.

park

As I had quite a lot of the rainbow colours left over I thought I’d start on another blanket for Crafty Toddler only this time working it as a series of concentric circles broken up by some cream yarn I found in my stash. I’m just carrying on until I run out of one of the colours at which point I will edge it in cream and call it finished. So far its a good pushchair sized blanket but it might just make it to a cot sized blanket at a push.

circle

Once I’ve finished the blanket I’m hoping to start on a 4ply semi circular shawl for me, ideally ready for when I go on holiday to Scotland later in the year and being very optimistic that I’ll be able to wear a shawl over a summer dress rather than hat, scarf and gloves over a waterproof jacket!

The long Easter weekend saw us getting back down to work at the allotment too. Thankfully Crafty Toddler was content making mud pies most of the time (in between visiting other plot holders for them to tell her how beautiful/ clever she was!) so my OH and I got plenty of weeding, hoeing and planting done. We might not have much in the way of veg to see at the moment (apart from the over wintered purple sprouting broccoli but there are plenty of flowers brightening up the plot which has proved a success when it comes to attracting butterflies.

butterfly

Judging by the amount of blossom on the plum trees this year we should be in for a bumper harvest of them later in the year assuming we don’t get any freak weather conditions between now and the fruit being set.

blossom

As the sun is shining I’m going to go sit in the back yard with my latest library book all about making your own cheese and day dream about having a small holding.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

