Wool…nice…mine!

With these three words and her first attempt at sentence construction Crafty Toddler proved she truly was my child, especially as whilst she was saying them she picked up the ball of yarn I was working with, rubbed it against her face and tried walking off with it. Sadly the day after she showed a significant influence from her dad was well as I found her sitting on her potty pretending to read a book about cycle maintenance.

But enough about Crafty Toddler, on with the talk of knitting etc. As promised today’s post is an update on my 2014 crafting resolutions/ goals.

Operate a 2 out 1 in policy for my fibre and yarn stash:

So far this year I have used 3900g of yarn and bought 600g of yarn, well under my stash down criteria. I may have to admit a bit a bit of a fail when it comes to fibre though as I have used 450g but bought 600g. Clearly my this “Fibre…nice…mine!” Oh and I may well also be ignoring the 500g of yarn and 400g of fibre I bought on my birthday this week, however as I bought it with birthday money that my mum gave me that day and she was with me at the time that I bought it, it totally counts as a present and is therefore exempt from stash down rules in my opinion.

Knit 2 sweaters:

If I count a poncho as a sweater I have already achieved this as I crocheted one for Crafty Toddler and one for myself, however if I am being strict then these don’t count but I did cast on for a real sweater for me last weekend. I’m just past the waist shaping but I’ll had to stop and rest for a couple of days as I got a bit carried away and ended up with wrist pain.

Knit 3 pairs of socks:

I’ve blown this one out of the water in the last couple of months, with a total of 7 pairs of socks – 2 for Crafty Toddler, 1 for my MIL and 4 pairs for me.

Knit something with my handspun yarn:

I knitted a hitchhiker scarf back in March and then used the leftovers to make a reduced version of the sockhead hat in June.

Process some of the merino fibre that my MIL gave me in 2012:

June also saw me finally getting around to carding the portion of the fleece that I had washed and dyed last year. The first colour is also spun up and waiting to be plied with some undyed BFL that I spun at the same time.

Make more things for Crafty Toddler:

I guess I will soon have to add Crafty Baby number 2 to this list but so far for the toddler I’ve made 2 pairs of socks, a poncho and 2 blankets.

KAL with my mum:

We both knitted the hitchhiker scarf by Martina Behm from handspun yarn back in March and had a lot of fun doing it, not quite as competitive as I thought we might be which was nice as well.

Make something else from the patterns in my crafting library:

The baby poncho came from one of my crochet books by Nikki Trench and the sweater I cast on at the weekend is very loosely based on a colour work yoke sweater in my Rowan Nordic Knits book.

Make something for my friend who was expecting a baby this year:

Despite her little boy turning up 3 weeks earlier than expected I finished a crochet ripple blanket for him in early May. Although with good news coming from another one of my other friends a few weeks ago I should have another baby item to knit before the year is out.

Knit more Fair Isle/ colourwork:

The sweater I cast on for at the weekend has a colour work yoke so fingers crossed I should be on track for achieving this one too, wrist pain allowing of course!

Take notes when I improvise patterns and write them up for publishing on the blog:

I have done a lot better with this than I did last year, on the blog I have published a pattern for a scarf and a crochet shawl, I even got around to adding the shawl as a pattern on Ravelry which turned out to be a heck of a lot easier than I expected it to. I still have another 6 patterns waiting though, some are typed up and ready to go as soon as I get round to taking photographs of the finished items, others are still in note form in my crafting journal so need a bit more work on them before they are ready.

At just over half way through the year I seem to be pretty much on track for achieving everything I hoped to in terms of my crafting resolutions, but lets not get too carried away – remember I have a new baby due to arrive in early October so there is still time for it all to go a bit Pete Tong!

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wool…nice…mine!

  1. soknitsome says:

    I love reading your blog! I shared a link to your blog on my blog hop post 🙂 http://soknitsome.wordpress.com/2014/08/03/blog-hopping-sharing-the-creative-process/

Leave a Reply

