2014 – year of the technology curse.

It all started when I dropped my mobile phone in a cup of tea whilst wrestling with a toddler. Thankfully after a week in a jar of rice on top of radiator it was saved – 4am feeds for crafty baby were a lot harder without the ability to access the internet.

Then my laptop had a “moment” and decided it didn’t want to work. I tried the trusty turn it off and hope for the best but still no luck so it had to go in to the repair shop. This meant trying to update my blog via the internet on my phone. This is why my last post was very brief, I tried inserting pictures of WIPs and other exciting things but it was having none of it so I had to admit defeat.

When the repair shop finally called it was to tell me that my laptop was officially dead, I was hoping it would turn out to be a case of me being a technological nincompoop and something really easy to fix but no! Thankfully all the data on it was recoverable (primarily pictures of crafty toddler and crafty baby which are the only copies I had) but it did mean that on top of the fee for telling me my laptop was broken I also had to buy a new laptop. Just what everyone needs in the run up to Christmas*.

Anyway that is all sorted now and I can finally update you on some of the things I have been working on.

WIPs:

wips

The spindle spinning I am currently working on is part of the merino fleece from my MILs sheep that I processed and dyed. Like the red and green batches I have already spun it is full of neps but an enjoyable spin never the less.

The socks are a present for my brother, just my standard vanilla sock pattern using some left over King Cole zig zag that I have had in my stash for 2 years. He gets handmade socks every year because he appreciates them and is willing and able to darn them if they need it.

The hat is the magnolia pattern by Maria Socha, I recommend you go look at the pattern as it is a lot prettier than it appears in this photo. It is a paid for pattern but somehow I managed to download it whilst it was free. The yarn is Rico Country Classics in Aubergine which would be a lot nicer to work with if it wasn’t for the alpaca content which is making my eyeballs itch.

FOs:

20141204_083403

The socks are again using King Cole zig zag adding a slip stitch detail to my standard sock pattern.

The cowl is hashtag snowflake by Susan Ashcroft using Drops Lima yarn – will I not learn when it comes to alpaca! Again it is a paid for pattern but well worth it and is surprisingly straight forward as it is a slip stitch design. My one complaint would be that it is a bit deep for my tastes.

Wheel spinning:

In between mothering duties I have been playing on my wheel again working on Christmas present for my mum. This is the original fibre;

fibre

and this is how it is spinning up;

spinning

It’s a shame that the colours muddy up when spun but luckily my mum likes purple which is how it seems to want to turn out.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I manage to get all my Christmas crafting finished in time and if I don’t speak to you before I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

*I appreciate that this is very much a first world problem and I am very thankful that I was in a position that this was the most serious problem I had to deal with. I know other people have a lot more significant issues to be dealing with.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2014 – year of the technology curse.

  1. whip1up says:

    Sign up for snapfish and get the picture mover. When an old computer crashed i lost every picture of my youngest up to age 2. Now when i upload pics they automatically get sucked into snapfish and can live there forever.

    Beautiful fos!

Leave a Reply

