2014 knitting resolution round up

So as we approach the end of the year how did I get on with my 2014 knitting resolutions/ goals?

Operate a 2 out 1 in policy for my fibre and yarn stash:

Yarn – in 1,600g out 4,700g
Fibre – in 1,500g out 2,500g

Ok I admit it I have a fibre problem!

Knit 2 sweaters:

I got 75% of the way through 2 sweaters for me whilst pregnant but these are still on the needles.

Knit 3 pairs of socks:

At the final count I had knitted 11 pairs this year – 3 children’s pairs and 8 adult pairs.

Knit something with my handspun yarn:

I knitted a hitchhiker scarf back in March and then used the leftovers to make a reduced version of the sockhead hat in June.

Process some of the merino fibre that my MIL gave me in 2012:

June saw me finally getting around to carding the portion of the fleece that I had washed and dyed last year. The first 2 colours are spun up and plied with some undyed BFL, the third colour is a current WIP

Make more things for Crafty Toddler:

For crafty toddler I’ve made 3 pairs of socks, a poncho and 2 blankets and a hat and for crafty baby I’ve made a blanket and some mittens.

KAL with my mum:

We both knitted the hitchhiker scarf by Martina Behm from handspun yarn back in March and had a lot of fun doing it, not quite as competitive as I thought we might be which was nice as well.

Make something else from the patterns in my crafting library:

The baby poncho came from one of my crochet books by Nikki Trench and one of the sweaters I cast is very loosely based on a colour work yoke sweater in my Rowan Nordic Knits book.

Make something for my friend who was expecting a baby this year:

Despite her little boy turning up 3 weeks earlier than expected I finished a crochet ripple blanket for him in early May.

Knit more Fair Isle/ colourwork:

The colour work sweater didn’t get finished in time but I did complete some slip stitch colour work in the form of the hashtag snowflake cowl I made my sister for Christmas.

Take notes when I improvise patterns and write them up for publishing on the blog:

On the blog I have published a pattern for a scarf, some fingerless mitts and a crochet shawl, I even got around to adding the shawl as a pattern on Ravelry. By far the hardest part of this is taking the photos to accompany the patterns which is what seems to be slowing me down with getting my patterns added on here or on Ravelry. I have to rely on my OH taking them for me usually once he has finished a night shift and is less than enthusiastic with doing it couple this with wrangling 2 small children at the same time and being at the mercy of the UK weather for outdoor shots in decent day light conditions and it is a wonder I’ve managed to get 3 up so far! Still I really will try harder next year, if nothing else saying “I’m doing it for a pattern I’m writing” gives me the perfect excuse to spend more time knitting and crocheting.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 knitting resolution round up

  1. Verónica says:

    You accomplished a lot! You must never sleep! Have a wonderful 2015.

Leave a Reply

