Just fudge it!

There comes a point in some knitting projects when you are faced with the tough decision of whether to frog it or fudge it and this week I have seriously fallen in to the fudge it camp. Having spent a good chunk of my time whilst pregnant working on the Cadence sweater only to discover that somehow my maths had gone a bit off kilter and it looked nothing like it was supposed to on the pattern I put it to one side and pretended it had never made it on to my needles. I picked it back up this week and thought I don’t care that it doesn’t look like the jumper on the pattern it is still a functional garment and I’m going to finish it anyway without fixing the mistakes. As I was going off piste with the pattern anyway I decided to make it short sleeve rather than 3/4 as it is in the pattern. My reasoning in part was linked to being lazy but partly as a way of being able to wear a chunky jumper under a coat without having to usual fat arm/ big jumper/ slim fit jacket sleeves problem. This is what I ended up with.

mini mummy

As you can see I had some yarn left over so decided to make an almost matching sweater for Crafty Toddler based on the Ladybird sweater pattern but cropping the sleeves to match my version of Cadence. I still need to choose buttons for this but I’m planning on using mismatched buttons from my stash. As it only took a day to knit I can see me making more of these in the future.

Quite a productive start to the New Year already so I am very pleased with myself, I am now looking forward to getting to play with some of the many fibre craft related presents I got for Christmas. My family clearly love me and know me very well as I got all these goodies.

crafty christmas

– A home made pin loom
– The Spinners Book of Yarn Designs by Sarah Anderson
– A set of 40cm circulars in a range of sizes
– A home made project bag with some Drops Fable sock yarn and some buttons
– A selection of spinning fibre samples from Adelaide Walker (recycled plastic bottle fibres, mulberry silk noil, flax, soya bean tops, milk protein, ramie tops, tussah silk, seacell, sari silk fibres, bamboo tops, silk cocoons)

Plenty to keep me busy with over the coming months.

You may recall I recently admitted to having a bit of a fibre habit, well Boxing Day proved this. Instead of chatting to my partner or children on the drive over to my in-laws for a family gathering I was cursing a slow internet connection on my mobile phone whilst trying to snag a bargain in the Countess Ablaze sale (which I had set an alarm for and put a short cut on my phone in advance to try and speed up the process!). I missed out on the Wensleydale I really wanted but managed to get hold of one of the blending boxes. Here it is in all it’s delicious glory.

countess

I have no idea how I’m going to spin the samples up yet I just like opening the box and drooling. If anyone can identify what any of the samples might be I would be really grateful as the geek inside me is a little bit twitchy about not knowing the fibre content or colourway name.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

