January seems to be FO-tastic

I don’t know if it’s just because it is still early in the year and I haven’t yet given up on my resolutions or whether it’s because with two small children I no longer have a social life but I appear to be flying through the projects this month. I doubt I will be able to keep up the momentum for a whole year but it’s nice to get a lot accomplished early – that way I won’t feel too bad about sitting about with my feet up drinking tea come March.

I finished 2 more ladybird jumpers one for crafty toddler and one for crafty baby (when she gets a bit older). I used random acrylic stash yarn for them both the grey and white one is using chunky yarn as per the pattern, it was gifted to me in a friend’s destash as a part ball without ball band so I have no idea what it is. The blue and white is a DK yarn held double (also gifted from a destash) and I think it is Sirdar Snuggly Chatterbox. As I made these I won’t feel bad about the girls wearing them whilst knocking about at the allotment making mud pies etc unlike all the lovely very girly cardigans that my mum knits and sends which I feel the need to “save for best”.

ladybirds

I also finished a crochet dress for crafty baby using some stash yarn from a very long time ago – this yarn is almost 20 years old! It had originally been half knitted in to a tank top for my 17 year old self but I frogged it last year as there was no way I was ever going to finish it or fit into it. Given how old it is I think it is fair to assume that it has been long since discontinued. All I can tell you is that it is DK weight and acrylic! The pattern however is a crochet dress by Nicki Trench. I made one of these for Crafty Toddler when she was first born and I loved it so much I wanted to make crafty baby one of her own. I would advise that you check gauge if you decided to make this, it claims to be a 6-9 month size but both of mine have worked up much smaller.

crochet frock

Not content with whizzing through to knit and crochet FOs I have 2 spinning FOs too. Both are 100% merino commercially prepared top from Woolyknit. The first is 100g/ 260m of a fingering weight 2 ply and seems much more balanced that my previous spins so I am really happy with it.

mossy green

The second I am less happy with, it is 170g/ 185m of an aran – chunky weight chain ply. As you can see it is seriously over plied and very energized. It may well have to be respun in the opposite direction to take some of the energy and twist out of it.

!crazy rainbow

My last make this week was some vegan flapjack which I am now going to have a slice of with a nice cuppa whilt I plan my next project, or 3

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

