Dreaming of knitting – planning ahead for my projects

In an attempt to be more organised with my knitting/crochet time over the next few months I sat down and thought about what I’d actually like to make over the course of the year. Normally this kind of plotting would involve getting sucked into that strange Ravelry time warp which involves logging in to Ravelry for a quick 5 minutes search for a pattern and emerging 3 hours later having queued 107 projects (all lace weight shawls that you will never actually get around to knitting), forgotten to eat/ attend important medical appointments and probably involved slight break to buy some yarn online because you saw it in a project and it looked nice (just the one skein because it was expensive and neglecting the face that you haven’t got enough of it to knit anything other than a pair of socks but it has no nylon in it so that isn’t really practical). Instead I wrote out what finished items I would like to have by the end of the year for me, for the crafty girls, for the house and for gifts. Where possible I tried to find patterns that fitted from my existing craft library, which was easier for the girls than it was for me. This is what I came up with.

For the girls (crafty toddler and crafty baby):

The Avery Pullover and the Joseph Cardigan by Nikki Van De Car from the book What to Knit – The Toddler Years.

Lace Vest and Warm Vest by Vibe Ulrik Sondergaard from the book Labour of Love.

Pixie hats such as Quynn by Woolly Wormhead or Norwegian Sweet Baby Cap by Gro

Aviatrix hats by Justine Turner x 2

Milo vests by Georgie Hallam x 2

I’ve even identified stash yarn for the sweaters and vests and I’m thinking about using handspun for the hats.

For me:

A colour affection shawl by Veera Valimaki the yarn for this is already balled up and waiting patiently for me to finish of some of my current WIPs.

A crochet sweater with a yoked construction similar to The Pluto Pullover by Linda Permann

A lace weight yoked tee similar to the Crown Tee by Jenise FReid

You may notice a theme here, it’s all about the yokes for me this year, after having knitted many sweaters I have finally come to the conclusion that yoken tops suit my body shape best (added to this top down raglan means I am more prone to make errors with maths and sewn in sleeves need more concentration on the quality of my finishing techniques).

For gifts:

Socks – I could link to a whole range of gorgeous sock patterns here with cables or colour work but in reality I know that they are going to end up being my standard vanilla sock pattern but using jazzy yarn.

For my house:

Basically it is all about the crochet franken blanket by which I mean using up all my odd scraps and part balls of DK weight yarn (just the acrylic scraps I’ll save the wool and wool blend scraps for a different project) to make a granny square blanket. In one of their recent books Arne and Carlos, I think it was Knit and Crochet Garden made some good suggestions for managing the colours and an interesting way to join the square which if worked in a single colour helps to unify the rest of the blanket and make it look less scrappy.

Hmm, having looked at all that lot I had probably better go cast something on!

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dreaming of knitting – planning ahead for my projects

  1. whip1up says:

    That looks like a fun and manageable plan. My plan is a bit more loose, but there is one, for once. I’d like to try to finish six sweaters this year, socks, at least ten pairs, and four to six lace something’s (wraps, shawls….whichever). Good luck!

  2. soknitsome says:

    Nice plan. I like that tee, too. Haven’t noticed it before. Thanks for enabling!

Leave a Reply

