Muggles messing up my schedule

In my head I have very clear plans about what I want from my blog, what I want to include and when I want to schedule my posts unfortunately most of these plans are usually thrown in to disarray by the crafty toddler and her sister however over the last few weeks their father has also got in on the act.

I love having my OH at home when he has time off work as it means that we can do fun things as a family however it also means that my crafting time gets swapped for other things and updating the blog goes out of the window. I am only just catching up on watching my backlog of knitting podcasts as trying to watch them with him around is frustrating – actually I am being a tad unfair he watched an episode of Dark Matter Knits with me and seemed to find in genuinely interesting but I know that whilst Amy Beth from The Fat Squirrel Speaks podcast makes me howl with laughter I also know that she frightens the life out of him.

Do any of you struggle with matching your blog plans with your blog reality? What disrupts your schedules?

To save time I shall skip over some of the many projects that have come and gone whilst I have been away from the blog (and some of the yarn/ fibre purchases that may have sneaked in too) and focus on what I have been doing in the last week or so which for the most part seems to be crochet blankets.

As part of my stash down goals I made a quick and easy granny square blanket for Crafty Toddler which as you can see she seems to be quite pleased with.

iggy blanket

The nest thing I started was a sock yarn scraps version of the weekender blanket by Sandra Paul, be warned – this is a very addictive project and the only reason I have stopped is because I have now run out of sock yarn scraps so I need to cast on some more socks asap! I am partly blaming Dani from the Little Bobbins Knits Podcast for making me fall down the rabbit hole with this one although other instagram friends also played a significant role in this.

hexi blanket

The next project on my hook is a version of the Cosy Blanket by Lucy from attic24 that I am making for my brother and his partner who are expecting a little boy in July. I’m using Stylecraft Special Dk like Lucy does for hers but I have to confess I am not enjoying the feel of working with it using a metal hook, it might be better on a wooden one but at the moment I’m just having to grit my teeth and get on with it.

cosy blanket

I have several baby projects planned for my new nephew and they are all based on the same colour scheme, I thought it would be nice to have them all looking vaguely co-ordinated. As it stands I’m not sure how I feel about this blanket, I think it is the juxtaposition of the yellow and the dark blue which is bothering me the most but I am hoping that when the blanket is finished and I have worked the border it will soften it somewhat. I used the random stripe generator from the Biscuits and Jam blog to help with the colour sequencing.

And finally I found time to join in with a knit-along ( #SpringtimesockKAL ) hosted by Lena from the A Wee Bit Knitty podcast and made these beauties using some Opal Hundertwasser with sparkle in the Kuss im Regen colourway that Ihad in my stash and the Spring Forward pattern from the Summer 2008 edition of Knitty Magazine.

spring forward

I had better leave it there for now as the muggles are on the rampage again and I need to contain them before the neighbours start to complain. Until next time…

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

