Sand in my socks.

For once it isn’t just childhood ailments messing up my blogging schedule, this time I have an enjoyable excuse and it involves the beach. We recently went on our first family holiday, well the first with all 4 of us and without any in-laws. It was nothing fancy but it suited us down to the ground. Limited time in the car to get there thus avoiding tantrums in confined spaces or on public transport, a self contained holiday home that made our home looked ill equipped and a large stretch of quiet clean beach within a 5 minute walk. Disclaimer: We were on the Yorkshire coast so please don’t imagine any sunbathing and cocktail sipping. Picture instead all weather gear, flasks of tea and briefly whipping off shoes and socks for a quick paddle in the sea to prove you haven’t turned in to a soft southerner – unless you are crafty toddler or Mr Crafty in which case only full body submersion in the sea will suffice!

20150530_134122

As my OH was driving I got to spend the car journey knitting so I cast these socks on as soon as we set off using some West Yorkshire Spinners yarn and some Red Heart sock yarn. The plan was to knit one pair of vanilla socks and another pair with a simplified chevron pattern inspired by the Jay Walker sock pattern. After frogging one pair three times I settled on 2 pairs of vanilla socks.

20150601_144244

Whilst I didn’t get to spot any real sheep (due to spending most of my time on the beach) we did find some wooden ones at a local play park.

20150604_114640

As crafty baby has only just got to the stage of sitting upright by herself I was more of less confined to the picnic blanket with her with Crafty Toddler and her dad went charging about the beach looking for sea glass and swimming in water that was still in single figure temperatures so I took my knitting down to the beach with me and worked on my socks whilst crafty baby played on the blanket and lived on a diet of sand and rice cakes.

20150605_121925

One interesting find at the beach was this old World War II defence structure. I’d never seen one before but my OH claims that were all along the coast near where he grew up. I did of course spend the afternoon dreaming of fabulous vintage sweater patterns after finding it.

20150604_140233

Nipping down to the beach with 2 small children is never a lightweight undertaking but it did all feel a bit Mad Max on this day laden with endless bags and baggages crossing vast swathes of sand.

20150608_140118

It was quite a sad time leaving our lovely holiday house to return home but along with a weeks worth of dirt washing I did arrive home with one sock 3/4 finished and the cuff on the second sock complete. NB: I would have had 2 socks almost complete but after getting through the cuff once and ripping back, then past the heel turn and then ripping back a second time I think getting through the cuff a third time was pretty good going.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

