Summer hibernation and a neglected blog

Do you ever have that problem where if you stop doing something for a while it gets harder and harder to start doing it again? Well that seems to be what has happened with my blog recently. The original blip was caused by yet more childhood illnesses in the crafty household – a second bout of tonsillitis swiftly followed by a double dose of chickenpox albeit 2 weeks apart from each other, but after that things never really seemed to get going again.

At this point I would like to point out that it wasn’t just the blog that was neglected, all communication with the outside world took a nose dive too. Being under house arrest during the illnesses meant that not only did I not see people to chat to but I also had very little to say to anyone I came in to contact with in other ways – updating on the number of pox each child had was about the extent of the excitement in the crafty household. I had very little time for crafting unless it was using calamine lotion to paint dot to dot style pictures on my children so didn’t really have a lot to share. I was also feeling rather frazzled and snappy which doesn’t exactly help when trying to put together coherent (articulate and interesting were too much to aim for!) posts. I basically contented myself with making it through the day, squeezed in a bit of yoga before bed then collapsed in a heap ready to repeat it all again the next day.

Enough with the moaning though, for now they are better or at least just have a background level of general lurg that all children have and I have mustered the energy to start communicating with the outside world. Future posts may well still be sporadic but I have at least been finding time to do some more knitting, crochet and spinning too so they may contain actual projects and pictures of things I have made rather than just excuses. Hopefully having a weekend away in a tipi in Wales in a couple of weeks will also help to fully recharge my batteries and inspire me to fall back in love with blogging again.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

