Knitter’s woes

Despite thinking I had made a good start on my Christmas knitting earlier on in the year I found myself at the end of October with only 3 half knitted pairs of socks to show for it. Those who follow me on Instagram (nadeybobs) have already seen the evidence of my serious case of second sock syndrome with 7 pairs of half finished socks and I have to confess to adding and eighth since then. So, last week I decided now was the time to knuckle down and get on with the gift knitting, and perhaps revise some of my plans for handmade gifts.

Last week was also the week both Crafty Toddler and Crafty Baby moved in to the coughing stage of their colds. As a side note Crafty Baby is no longer a baby as she turned 1 a few weeks ago and has been walking for well over a month so I guess they should now be Crafty Toddler #1 and #2. Back to the cold, after an awful lot of coughing and very little sleep I decided they could maybe have some cough syrup – I am very reluctant to medicate my children unless it is absolutely necessary (this does not include real medical treatment for proper illnesses or vaccinations which they have without question I merely mean in relation to everyday coughs, colds etc.) I should perhaps have stuck with my reluctance because this was where disaster struck, I sprained my wrist trying to take a childproof cap off the cough medicine bottle. Yes, you heard that correctly it seems they are child- and Nadineproof!

I didn’t really think anything of it at the time – other than “Ouch” as I didn’t have a massive amount of knitting time, what with the coughing and the lack of sleeping it was only once they had settled down and I could relax into some me time with my needles ad some yarn that I realised there was a problem. Obviously being the obsessive knitter that I am I struggled on for a few days because lets face it life without knitting just seems wrong. I finally had to give in at the weekend and swore off doing any kind of knitting or crochet or spinning (!!) from Friday until Monday to allow my wrist to rest. Well, I say rest but I still had to wrestle 2 toddlers and plant garlic at the allotment. Monday night came and I got very excited about the idea of picking up my needles again. I limited myself to 30 minutes before bed just to ease myself back in gently, so far so good. Then yesterday I did a bit more a few rounds on one of the Christmas socks during the day and then a few more on another pair at bedtime, not so good this time. I realised it was going to take quite a bit longer to sort itself out so I am on a self imposed knitting ban once again.

Whilst I am waiting for my wrist to sort itself out I am wondering what to do with my hands, it seems very odd watching tv during the evening without needles in my hands, I feel kind of lazy! I hadn’t understood just how much knitting was my stress relief either until I couldn’t do any, now it may be in part that my stress levels have increased because I know all that Christmas knitting is sitting there unfinished and time is running away with me but it is also about the fact that the calming, quiet repetition of knitting each stitch that erases the chaos of the day that is life with small children and enables me to sleep is missing. Thankfully I am still able to do my yoga routines everyday so I am not a totally frazzled out mummy but I am seriously considering teaching myself to knit in the continental fashion just so that I have the option to knit with either hand and I don’t have to endure and knitting free time in the future!

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitter’s woes

  1. salpal1 says:

    oh dear! I hope toddlers and mama are all feeling better soon, and you can pick up the needles again. I agree, it is very hard to sit and do nothing now that knitting is such a big part of life. 🙂

  2. You can do it! Sore wrists are the worst though. Rest up so you can finish those socks!

Leave a Reply

