Goodbye to a scatty 2015, hello to a more mindful 2016

After yet another visitation of the plague in the Crafty household I thought it would be a good time to look back on what has been a rather scatty and disrupted 2015 and towards a hopefully more organised and mindful 2016.

My plans for 2015 in the end turned out to be a bit too optimistic but not to shabby none the less. A very quick round up reads as follows;

1. continue with posting my improvised patterns/ designs

I managed 2 early on in 2015.
2. operate a 4 out 1 in policy on yarn (I’m making no promises at all about fibre!)

With last minute Christmas knits I just managed to squeak in at the 2 out 1 in mark.

3. More colour work

4 Fair Isle projects in total – one adult, 3 children’s.

4. Learn new knitting techniques

A total of 9 new knitting or spinning techniques mastered.

5. Make more things for crafty toddler and crafty baby

Clocking in with a whopping 3 jumpers, 3 vests, 2 dresses, 1 pair of leggings, 1 hair accessory, 1 pair of socks, 1 hat, 5 blankets ad 4 wash cloths.

6. Make more things from my existing craft library (paper and digital)

7 projects using all or part of a pattern from my existing craft library.

7. Knit at least 4 pairs of socks from my existing sock yarn stash

3 out of 4 completed.
8. Finish my 2 sweater WIPs and make 1 more adult sized sweater

Completed by September 2015.
9. Keep better Ravelry notes for knitting and spinning projects

Epic fail!
10. Spin 8 new to me types of fibre

7 new to me types of fibre spun over the course of 2015.

 

This year rather than setting myself a list of specific resolutions or goals I am planning on taking a more mindful approach to my crafting life. Whether that means planning new cast ons around existing outfit choices or working my way through the stash that I have and only buying new yarn for specific projects or taking a longer term view of my crafting and engaging in/ making progress on a couple of long term WIPs remains to be seen, it will probably involve a bit of all three.

My ability to post regular blog updates has been a bit erratic this year and rather than beating myself up about not sticking to a planned and themed weekly schedule I am going to accept that life will no doubt take priority again in 2016. This means that I shall post when I can but as a way of documenting what I achieve over the year I have started a craft journal, It is something that I can update a lot quicker than the blog but still allows me a few moments to sit down and focus on the things that I have made, learnt or achieved during the year. This may be easier to fit in around childhood illnesses and disrupted schedules, it may even serve as a way of updating the blog when I haven’t got time to spend an hour or more typing, editing and uploading a full traditional blog post.

Essentially this year I hope to slow things down and think more about how what I am making fits in with my needs and lifestyle. My only other aim for the year ahead is to increase my participation with the online crafting community to re-establish a connection with like minded people that seems to have come adrift slightly over the last 12 months. Here’s to a grounded and mindful 2016.

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

