Falling out of love

For the last few weeks I have been meaning to get around to updating the blog but as you will have noticed I haven’t. To begin with I blamed hectic life with 2 toddlers and then the dark and depressingly wet north western weather (and a rubbish camera) that stopped me from taking half way decent pictures of my finished objects to add to my posts. In fact I could have gone on to blame a whole range of things but I eventually took myself to task and forced myself to sit and think about exactly why I wasn’t making the time to post new items to my blog. The short answer was that I had fallen out of love with the style of blogging that I had adopted.

Weekly diary style entries of what I’ve made/ done this week just really weren’t filling me with enthusiasm anymore. This didn’t just apply to my own writing but the podcasts I chose to watch too. I noticed I had either culled or just stopped watching podcasts that just catalogued what people had made over the last week or fortnight, unless the person hosting the podcast had a particularly strong personality or talked about extra things that allowed me to connect with a shared interest (motherhood being a major factor but not the only one).

Along with the lack of enthusiasm for the blog I found that my inspiration for my crafting journal was a bit lack lustre too. I played around with a couple of entry styles but couldn’t settle on one that I liked. Just listing new cast ons and finished objects didn’t work for me but then neither did daily entries charting progress on WIPs. March will signal the beginning of a new approach to my journaling attempts which will be much more goal focussed. A working life in project management should perhaps have told me this style would suit me better right from the off.

That is the journaling sorted so what future for the blog? Reviewing the posts that have made me the happiest to write and incidentally have generated more readers are the patterns and the book reviews. My budget isn’t going to allow me to buy new craft books to review every week (any kind publishers out there are more than welcome to send me a free copy of any new or upcoming publications for review though) and realistically I can’t generate new patterns on a weekly basis either. So what can I do? Well. for a start I would like to do more book reviews and pattern releases but these will be when finances and time allows. For the rest of my posts I think I would like to employ a more thematic approach, nothing terribly sophisticated and the nature of the themes may well chop and change until I find something that works for me.

On that note I am going to sign off and go in search of a pen and some paper to start drafting out my ideas for March, wish me luck!

 

 

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

