Creative Journal

As part of my more mindful for this year I decided to start a creative journal to keep track of my makes, plans and aspirations for 2016. The most significant difference between this and my previous attempts at logging my creative endeavours was that it would be free from toddler scribble!

I started the journal with double page spreads under the following headings;

  • knitting/ crochet
  • spinning
  • sewing
  • operation Christmas

One page listed all the projects under each heading that I wanted to accomplish over the course of the year and the second page was a gant chart mapping progress on these.

At the back of the journal I set up a record of yarn usage and purchases and the same for my fibre stash not with any particular usage goal in mind other than using more than I buy.

That left the middle section blank, after a few months of faffing about with different formats I think I have finally found one that works for me.

IMG_20160412_095532286

The first page for the month sets out my to do list for that month noting if any of the items are carried forward from the month before) and lists ideas I have had for blog posts, I have many of these but sadly not enough time to write them all each month. The second page charts the activities that I would like to do on a daily basis which mainly stay the same each month but may vary over time depending on my mood. I can already see a massive difference between my ability to complete the activities between weekdays and weekends, weekends being the times I am less likely to accomplish them as I have to spend more time with family and be less anti-social (weekdays I can stay up until the wee small hours crafting like a demon as the children are asleep and my OH is working nights).

IMG_20160412_095544152

The second double page spread covers my individual projects, I may need to re-arrange some of the boxes in future months but I like how this looks for now.

For April I also added 2 more pages the first set out the challenges for the #30daycreativeyou project hosted by Fall for DIY and the second was useful information on measuring yarn weights based on stitches per inch and wraps per inch. Sadly the 30 day creative you challenge disappeared off the face of the earth after day 18 which was a massive shame as that was the one thing I was managing to keep up with every day.

Rather than seeming like a chore to complete I am actually really enjoying it as it is helping me realise just how much I have accomplished already this year and it is stopping me from getting side tracked by pretty new projects that I don’t need just because everyone else is making it or from buying wool or fibre that I don’t need. So far it has even remained free from toddler scribble but this may have something to do with hiding it under the bed during the day and only working on it during the dead of night – ah the things mum’s do!

 

 

 

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creative Journal

  1. This is a great idea, I love how neat yours looks as well. I keep a ‘knitting diary’ which is where I record which row etc. I am on when I finish knitting/crocheting a session and keep any notes while I am working on one project. The idea is that I don’t lose where I am and I can pick up projects faster. I might try this at some point though.

    • Thank you 🙂 the first few months were less neat but I’m hoping the tidy and organised approach to my journal keeping might transfer to the rest of my life which is slightly more chaotic and ramshackle.

    • Thank you 🙂 I’d like to take all the credit but it is a mish mash of lots of different journals I’ve seen around recently. Be warned though, you can lose hours and hours on the internet looking at different styles once you get sucked in to the world of journalling.

Leave a Reply

