When a crafter moves house.

You know the day is off to a bad start when this is one of your first conversations;

OH: What’s your plan for today?

Me: Well, I need you to get the suitcases out of the loft and then find me some boxes out so I can pack my craft stuff up.

OH: Do we need to take your craft stuff?

Me: (deathly silence and a face like Zelda from Terrahawks)

Me: (vey slowly whilst breathing deeply) I beg your pardon?

OH: (furiousl backpeddling) Erm…what I mean is do we need to take it ALL, you obviously need to take some of it but it’s just there is rather a lot of it and the move is only temporary.

In the end we reached a compromise and I packed 3 boxes of crafting (mainly knitting, spinning and crochet) supplies to bring with me for the 2 and a half months that we will be gone whilst our old house has some renovations done to it. The majority of the 2 wardrobes and 2 sets of drawers full of other crafting supplies either went in to storage or were left at the house until we return. Some of you may think 3 boxes for such a short period of time is excessive and to you I also pull the Zelda face for the rest of you who are slightly worried that I might run out of things to do I should point out that there is no need to worry as we have only moved 3 miles down the road so if I am in danger of running out of yarn I can always walk back and get some more.

One surprise related to the move occurred when my OH emptied the loft (as getting in to the loft requires you to balance precariously on top of the bannister whilst trying to hook the loft hatch open I refuse to go up there myself) was that all my fabric stash was unearthed. When the girls were born a lot of my fabric had to go in to storage in the loft as we only have a 2 bedroom house and my craft room had to make sacrifices in order to make room for a baby in it. Going through the bags that had been up in the loft though I discovered some absolute treasures. I had previously been worried that my desire to start making items towards a handmade wardrobe would mean I needed to buy endless amounts of new fabric but the hidden stash revealed some potential candidates for trousers and tunics.

It did get me thinking though, for all you other crafters out there how would you prioritise what craft supplies to take with you if you were going to be away from home for an extended period of time?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When a crafter moves house.

  1. salpal1 says:

    OMG why ANYONE think one could go almost three months without crafting? 🙂 I suspect three boxes won’t be enough, but as you can easily access the cache, it will be OK. Plus, there are still stores,right? If I had to plan for such a move, I likely would try to map out exactly what I would make and bring the things I needed for that. It would definitely be more of the knitting variety than the sewing or paper crafting variety, as that is much more compact and requires fewer tools. Best of luck sorting it al out, and I hope the remodel goes fast and smoothly.

    • Thank you 😃 I think he realised in the end that it was in his best interests that I stay sane and the most likely way to achieve that was by letting me bring knitting. I prioritised in much the same way that you suggested, then threw a couple of extra skeins of sock wool in for good measure.

      • salpal1 says:

        socks are good! get some variety and finish the things pretty quickly. Keep mama sane is the reason for the exercise, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

