Socks, socks and more socks ( #16pairsin2016 )

At the beginning of the year I decided to take part in a knit along hosted by Tracey from The Passioknit Spinner podcast and Sadie from the Yarnivore podcast. The idea was to knit 16 pairs of socks during 2016.  I reasoned that I was pretty much guaranteed to be knitting socks anyway as they require very little brain power and can be slotted in around the demands of toddlers plus it would be nice way of connecting with other knitters out there.

The good news – I have already completed all 16 pairs.

The bad news – despite trying to be more mindful and relaxed about my makes this year I found myself imposing extra conditions on my goal like can I finish all 16 pairs before the end of June or can I knit at least 2 pairs of socks a month. I’ve had a word with myself and decided to finish out the year seeing what happens sock wise without adding any other goals. The second bit of bad news was that so far it hasn’t really helped me connect with other knitters, partly this is my fault as I haven’t made as much time as I needed to keep track of the #16pairsin2016 thread on Ravelry, or even Instagram for that matter. The other reason is that, as happens with some knit alongs, the thread is finished object heavy but chat light. Even so it has been fun.

Ok, now the important bit – the socks!

About themanyknitsofnadine

Interested in all things crafty, I knit, spin, sew, crochet, quilt, grow my own and bake (although the baking these days is all allergy friendly) and I try and blog about all these things. I also host a bi-weekly podcast on incorporating slow living into all my crafty adventures
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Socks, socks and more socks ( #16pairsin2016 )

  1. Love your socks. I’m with you, in that I have a basic recipe and I can embellish as I want, but is very portable (even the heels) and mindless. Unfortunately I have a disorder called AADLY (Adult Attention Deficit Look Yarn). I get bored with anything larger than women’s size 7. Shawls. Sweaters are definitely bad. Hats and mittens and baby’s layette are fine. Question … How did you do the diagonal? And when I want to do lace it has to be o.k. a panel for from and back, I haven’t figured out how to continue to the next needle.

    • Thank you, I’m slightly better in so far as I can go up to a UK men’s 10 but the last few centimetres have me wanting to cry! The diagonal socks are based on a free pattern called Skew from Knitty.com essentially you are increasing at one side only and then there is some complicated origami type sock folding that requires grafting to create the heel – all of which makes it sound more complicated than it is. I made a few modifications to the pattern because I didn’t like the choice of increase and decrease methods but once I’d got in to the rhythm of it I didn’t have to think about it too much. As for the socks with the lace sections in I kind of cheated and worked with a lace repeat that fitted with the number of stiches I had on each needle so I just had to work one repeat on each needle.

Leave a Reply

